Thumb Thumb Thumb

About the College

Sanmati. Govt. College of Science Education and Research, Jagraon was established in 1968. It was inaugurated by the then Home minister, Sh. Y. B. Chavan on 18th july, 1968. This is the only govt. college in Punjab where purely science education is imparted up to the post graduate level. Government has specially established this istitution to provide quality science education to the meritorious rural and semi urban youth. Now the college is equipped with all the required facilities and latest technology for the teaching of B.Sc. and M.Sc. (chemistry and Botany) classes. In the establishment of college, Jain society especially, Matri Sewa Sangh, Jagraon and the patron respected Shri. Bimal Muni Ji has given an incredible contribution. Under their patronage, college was given approximately 40 acres of land as a charity for its building to the Govt. of Punjab .The mission of the college is ‘Transcend’ which motivates the students to work hard and achieve heights in life.

The College is situated on Jagraon–Raikot road. It is about 5 km away from bus stand and 4 km from the railway station. College is situated in the natural and open environment which has earned it the title of Mini Shanti Niketan..The college has been accredited with ‘B++’ grade by NAAC in cycle I and cycle II of accreditation. The college has been selected, under Star College Scheme in life Sciences by DBT, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India in 2009. The sprawling lush green eco friendly campus spread over 42 acres provides highly conducive environment for the holistic development of the students. The infra-structure includes 8 class rooms of which 7 have been converted into smart class rooms, 12 well equipped laboratories, computer lab, two museums, one herbarium, girls’ hostel, canteen, main library and 5 departmental libraries possessing more than 16000 books. Innovative techniques such as MIPS, PPTs, OHP, Models, Audio-visuals in addition to Chalk and talk are employed in teaching-learning. The botanical garden of the college is spread over more than three acres and is considered to be the best from the gardens of the govt. colleges of Punjab. It hosts more than 300 plants (of more than 200 types) which are arranged according to Bentham and Hooker system.

Some of the top merit positions in PG and UG courses are captured by the students of our college .Different societies and clubs have been formed to enhance creativity and critical thinking of the students and to nurture and channelize their energies in some constructive manner. With the help of star college scheme, RUSA and UGC, ICT facility has been updated. The Public awareness programmes are organized from time to time by different societies on relevant days. To inculcate the aptitude for community service among the students, the college has two NSS units one each for boys and girls. The students are also encouraged to participate in inter college competitions and youth festival. Our students bring laurels to the college by bagging prizes from such competitions. Well maintained play grounds with 8 lane 400 M track are part of the campus for the good physical health of the students. The college magazine ‘The Scientist’ is regularly published to showcase the literary interest of our science students. The illustrious Alumni, the pride and strength of the college, have adorned some of highest offices in country. A large number of students are getting excellent placements in different parts of country and abroad. Alumni association is quite active and coordinates for the development of college in different ways.

Some of our illustrious alumni include. S. Darbara Singh Guru, IAS former Chief Secretary of CM of Punjab; S. Jaswinder Singh Brar, Former DPI Colleges, Punjab; Sh. Rakesh Goyal, IAS; Dr. Rakesh Popli, PCS; Neerja Punia, National Awardee for using ICT.

List Of Our College Patrons

S.No Name of Directors Tenure From Tenure To
OSD Sh. G. B. S. Salaria July 68 12-07-70
1. S. Mohan Singh 13-07-70 23-04-77
2. Dr. Manmohan Singh 06-05-77 22-12-85
3. Sh. B. S. Bhimber 12-02-86 30-04-88
4. S. Amarjeet Singh 06-05-88 31-05-90
5. Sh. P. N. Kapil 06-12-90 28-02-91
6. Sh. R. K. Sharma 12-05-91 30-09-92
7. Sh. B. K. Garg 23-12-92 03-09-96
8. Dr. S. K. Saradh 03-09-96 18-10-96
9. Sh. B. K. Garg 18-10-96 31-07-98
10. S. S. S. Kalia 21-10-99 19-05-2K
11. S. S. S. Kalia 22-03-01 31-03-02
12. S. G. P. S. Bhatia 27-04-02 30-04-02
13. S. Mahinder Singh Jassal 02-07-02 30-04-03
14. Dr. P. S. Bhatti 16-06-03 02-09-04
15. Mrs. Raminder Kaur 15-09-04 31-07-05
16. Dr. Malkeet Singh 01-11-05 12-05-06
17. Mrs. Harmandeep Kaur 12-05-06 31-10-09
18. S. Jaswinder Singh Brar 14-11-09 15-11-11
19. S. Davinder Singh Chahal 11-09-12 31-03-14
20. Dr. Mahinder Kaur Grewal 17-07-14 14-10-15
21. S. Surjeet Singh 16-10-15 31-10-15
22. Mrs. Poonam Mittal 31-10-15 30-04-17
23. S. Gurcharan Singh 24-05-17 31-03-2020
24. Mrs. Sumedha Syal 09-02-21 28-02-2021
25. ︎Ms. Kirpal Kaur 07-04-2022 -